Ubuntu 10.10 – Slow Internet

Fresh install of Ubuntu 10.10 (Maverick Meerkat), internet browsing, apt-get was very slow in Firefox, Chrome, I had to disable IPV6 at boot level and now browsing and apt-get update has improved, follow the steps below :

gksu gedit /etc/default/grub

Change the following line :

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"

TO the following (Disabling IPV6)

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash ipv6.disable=1"

On a Terminal, update grub by :

sudo update-grub
18 Responses to Ubuntu 10.10 – Slow Internet

  1. Pachuca says:

    Thank you, this work for my ubuntu 10.10.

  2. Märt says:

    Unbelievably slow internet was driving me crazy, somehow I managed to navigate myself to this site, and the solution restored internet speed back to normal. Thanks!

  3. RRB says:

    This worked on my 10.10 installation. Thanks!

  4. Amit says:

    Hi

    Same issue – but I can’t find a file called /etc/default/grub 😦

    I have tried setting FF to
    disabled network.dns.disableIPv6 = true in FF about:config but it is not fixing issue

    I have VPN to my work and if I VPN it works perfectly

    I am using router which is connected to DSL modem. I am not sure what is going on or why I am experiencing this. Older versions of Ubuntu worked awesome but this is a drag – please let me know any cli dump you need and I will send to you.

  5. ash says:

    Thanks! This worked for me.

  6. Andrew says:

    You are a legend! Worked a treat. Thanks.

  7. Magda says:

    Worked for me too 🙂 Many thanks.

  8. David Rogers says:

    So far so good. It seems to have worked.

  9. Yamagushi says:

    Worked for me too! Thanks!

  10. viswankr says:

    Thanks!!!!!!!!!

  11. bruce from oz says:

    thanking you works for ubuntu 11 as well 🙂

  12. NedNisW says:

    Man, you are legen – wait for it – dary.

    Works also with Ubuntu 11 🙂 Thanks a lot!!!

  13. Killer says:

    OMG this fixed my slow internet on my MacBook! Its been driving me not to use Ubuntu on my MacBook but now I have fast internet connection….Thanks so much!

  14. Lån says:

    Worked in 11.10, thanks a lot!

  15. Steve says:

    amazing, thank you very much.
    I’m trying to update from 10.10 to 11.04 and its been downloading at 12kb/s, after this it is now downloading at an amazingly fast 108kb/s lol

  16. dinh vi gps says:

    So amazing, it worked for me.
    Thank you so much!

  17. wcmolina says:

    So far this seems to work! Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

